top of page

Nourishing Lamb Shank Soup!


I am so not a fan of Winter, but I love making soups! I find it one of the easiest ways to get so many nourishing elements into the the one meal.

Since being diagnosed with Hashimoto's I have had to change and adapt the foods I eat. It can be frustrating and annoying!! Plus, I get super cold and chilled to the bone all the time.... Bbbrrrrr.... SO I make gut warming and nourishing soups to heat me up from the inside out, and they all have ingredients that help heal and seal my gut.. WINNING!

Lately I have had a craving for lamb, so I grabbed some big meaty shanks and decided to make soup. OMG best decision ever!! It turned out so good, which makes my body super duper happy.. Not only is this soup delish, but it is AIP compliant.

This soup is amazing to eat at any time of the day, especially in Winter.

I love it with sweet potato noodles, but sometimes I cook quinoa and mix it into my soup. So good! You can even serve it on sweet potato or pumpkin mash.

Lamb Shank Soup:

Ingredients:

2 good quality lamb shanks

Bone broth - I used chicken as that's what I had in freezer

1tbsp coconut oil

A splash of apple cider vinegar

Coconut aminos - to taste (2-3tbsp)

Sea Salt - to taste

1tbsp collagen

1-2tbsp of raw honey (I used Majestic Bees Honey)

Sprinkle of dried mixed herbs

Sprinkle of turmeric powder (you can use raw, I just didn't have any)

Loads of veggies - carrots, spinach, pumpkin, sweet potato, zucchini, swede, turnip and parsnip ( really whatever you like in soups)

Leek

4 gloves garlic

1/2 tbsp minced ginger

Boiled water to top up.

Method:

Put all ingredients into a slow-cooker on low and cook until veggies are soft and the meat falls off the shanks. You can add chillies for a nice kick - I'm not allowed to have them atm is why I never added them.

I hope it warms your heart as it does mine!

Love Jen xx

bottom of page