top of page

Did you know I'm a Qualified Children's Nutritionist?


Once I began as a Personal Trainer I found I needed to learn more about nutrition, as health and fitness go together and I needed a specific area to focus on.

As I looked through thousands of courses I finally found one that resonated with me and I knew from there that working closely with children is where I am meant to be! Unfortunately I'm not a Mum yet, but I have lots of Niece's (I was an Aunt at 13yrs old) and Nephew's, I was a live-in Nanny when I was 20yrs old and have babysat on and off since then (I'm almost 35yrs old). I also completed a short course to teach fitness directed at kid's and became a kid's yoga instructor.

I just love the innocence of children and how carefree they can be, but unfortunately sometimes they forget to be carefree or aren't allowed to be. But what really touches me is the fact that they need more in life to help with their health and emotional well-being. Kid's find it hard to express their emotions and nutrition can definitely help balance them and create a new way of life.

As adults we have a general idea of how our body works and what's needed to function each day. But kid's don't really care and most of the time they mirror what us adults do around them, what we eat, how we eat and why we eat.

Life has become super busy for most families and so take-away meals and quick meals are becoming more and more prominent in households, along with a lot of packet snacks in school and kinder lunch boxes. Not that I am judging at all, it just breaks my heart to see families struggle and then the kids health and mental state deteriorates. Unfortunately obesity and health related illnesses are becoming way too common in Australia and I believe it's due to a lack of education around nutrition and how the body reacts, busy life schedules and technology.

I totally get that kids can be fussy eaters, but did you know it takes 10 tries to actually like or dislike a food? Or that certain textures can influence what a child eats?, and I know we all know that the appearance of food is a big deal!!

I loved studying Children's Nutrition and learning about what is needed during child development, from pre-conception through to teens.. Everything adds up to something, we just don't know what that something is at the time. Are we creating and then feeding dis-ease?

I am here to help direct you and your family to healthier options. Educate you and support you with incredible changes and of course the challenges that come with it. Yes, you can still enjoy dessert, eating out, having friends over and still be flooding your body with what it needs and really craves..

I am here to bust the myth that healthy eating is boring and just lettuce and ice.. lol.

Or that healthy eating is expensive and time consuming.. I can have a meal done and on the table in less than half an hour!!

Plus, we can get the kids into the kitchen creating yummy and nutritious school snacks or rich and creamy smoothies, they can even help make dinner!! I know as a kid I loved helping my Mum in the kitchen.

One of the best outcomes of good family nutrition is that you will find that you actually love eating again!!

Nutrition is super important for daily function.. Yep, we kinda knew that though yeah?! But getting it right means we can begin our day full of life and be excited to embrace the new day and people (haha)..

I offer assistance with:

Pre-conception.

Pregnancy.

Newborns and infants.

Pre-school and school aged kids.

Tweens and teens.

A nutrition consult can help with:

Fussy eaters.

Undernourished kids.

Eating habits.

Sleeping.

3pm slump.

Body exhaustion.

Low energy.

Sports training.

Digestion.

Cognitive function.

Pregnancy.

Depression and anxiety.

Emotions and crankiness.

Type 2 diabetes.

Autoimmune dis-eases

Gut health.

Colds and Flu's.

Headaches and migraines.

Skin conditions.

Weight gain.

Weight loss.

Kids that bounce of the walls.

Nutrient deficiency leaves bags under the eyes, black eyes, easy bruising skin, hair loss, exhaustion, soft and brittle nails, aggression, sadness, dullness, bed wetting, interrupted sleep patterns, poor digestion and many more symptoms.

If you can tick off one or more of these for your child, please make an appointment so we can bring back their vitality!!

I am now working from In-Symmetry - Romsey Wellness Centre on a Tuesday and every second Wednesday evening.... Please call the clinic to book -

(03) 5429 3610.

Jen xx

bottom of page