top of page

Healing with Hashimoto's and Adrenal Fatigue!


Uurrrggghhhhhh!!

You know those days where you feel tired all over, yet you want to get up and do things but your body just won't go??

It's frustrating not knowing what is going on inside your body... Ever since I was ill in 2016/2017 I began really listening to my body and really looking after it.

SO when I was exhausted all the time, you know that mind, body and muscle soreness, that's when I knew something wasn't quite right.

I was working, studying, playing tennis and training HARD. Some days I had no energy to get up and do all that I wanted to do, but I still pushed through thinking I'd be right.

I was absolutely smashing my boxing and weights training each week, my boxing had improved awesomely and my muscles were getting bigger and more defined. My trainer organised for a body scan which is amazing (I highly recommend you get a scan to track your health), I was happy with my first scan as I was feeling better than I had in 2 and a half yrs, but my last scan was another story.... All my training and healthy eating through the JBT program and I had put on 3kgs!!

I know what you're thinking, "Don't go by the scales it's most likely muscles!".... Yes my muscles had grown, But I hadn't lost any % of fat.. That's what sucked the most, I was doing everything right to be losing fat and building muscle, but it wasn't happening.

That's when I booked in to see my local TCM Practitioner and had blood tests done (again I highly recommend you do this to see what is going on in your body and with your large organs), this is where we discovered I have and autoimmune dis-ease called Hashimoto's and severe adrenal fatigue... Holy crap! No wonder I was feeling flat all the time and nothing I did worked.

So from here there was no more strenuous training or cardio.. Boo! I had to again re-adjust my diet to cut out all the foods that cause inflammation... eekkkk! I only eat wholefoods, so this part was super overwhelming for me. There was so much I had to cut out, really not fair, plus all my meals had to be warm as my body was too tired to process cold foods for digestion. Once I was able to adjust meals again I lost 1kg in 1 week, amazing really!

But it really has opened my eyes to what people go through life with. Some people suffer with autoimmune dis-eases for years and years, which is so horrible. I feel I am going through this so that I am better equipped to complete my studies and to truly be able to understand the human body, this is exciting as I will be able to help more people with their healing.

I am taking an all natural approach to my healing, through good foods that are compliant with AIP (Autoimmune Protocol), acupuncture and herbs from my TCM practitioner, yoga aimed at hormonal imbalance, thyroid and adrenal fatigue, meditation and of course with JBT.

I have begun a group on Facebook to show what I am doing and how I am still loving life and healing through these illnesses. Please feel free to follow and share with those who may be dealing with similar issues. Link below!

Jen xx

bottom of page